Important Steps to Take After Being Injured in Florida
Written by Shawn Diederich on October 7, 2015
Getting injured—especially through a devastating accident—can put people in shock. It can be frightening and unnerving, and this sometimes causes people to forget that there are steps that must be taken in order to protect oneself, both in the moment and later on in the process.
Ensure Everyone’s Safety
Making sure that you (and everyone else involved, if there was an accident) are safe is crucial. Contact an ambulance if need be, and if you have been in a car accident, ensure that all vehicles are out of the way of traffic (with hazard lights on, if necessary). If you visit a doctor regarding any injuries, make sure that they are thorough in their examination and keep track of your costs and any adjustments to your daily life due to your injuries.
Contact the Police
Under Florida law, any accidents involving injuries (or death, of course), property damage over $500, an intoxicated driver, as well as hit-and-run accidents, must be reported to law enforcement right away. An officer will typically draft a written report that includes all of the necessary details that you might need for a case, so making sure that this is done is crucial. Follow up to ensure that this was done; if not, note that you must file a crash report within 10 days of the accident.
Document All Evidence
Take down names, addresses, phone numbers, and insurance information for the other people involved and any relevant witnesses if you have been involved in an accident. Document what happened by taking pictures of anything that is relevant to what caused your injuries. If you have been involved in a car accident, also note license plate numbers, cars, makes and models for the vehicle(s) involved.
Avoid Making Public Statements. Do Not Negotiate With Other Insurance Companies
Many people who have just been injured may make particular statements, apologies, or admissions due to being in shock. Make efforts not to do this. Also do not post any details about the accident on social media. And in the case of a car accident, never speak with the other driver’s insurance company and try to negotiate for yourself before you contact and speak with an attorney.
Contact Your Own Insurance Company
Under Florida state law, your insurance company must cover medical expenses and any lost income, regardless of fault. Your mandatory personal injury protection insurance covers up to 80 percent of your injuries and 60 percent of your wages. However, you may still need to bring a claim to cover the rest of your expenses (or if you were in an accident with an underinsured or uninsured motorist).
Be Cognizant of Time Limitations
Also note that Florida only allows you four years from the date of your accident to file any necessary claim against the person who caused your injuries.
Have You Been Injured in Florida?
The attorneys at Diederich Law Firm are highly experienced with all areas of personal injury and we are ready to ensure that you receive the compensation that you need. Contact us today at 407-270-3775 to discuss your claims if you have been injured in Florida.